Print this page
Make An Appointment
Book Appointment Online with select physicians.
Request Appointment Online to schedule with one of our coordinators.
1.888.IUHEALTH for
Same-Day Primary Care Appointments.
If you are experiencing a medical emergency, please call 9-1-1.

Magnet Designation

Magnet is a national designation recognizing excellence in nursing services and high-quality clinical outcomes for patients. It is a seal of approval for quality nursing care.

The Magnet Recognition Program® was developed by the American Nurses Credentialing Center, a subsidiary of the American Nurses Association (ANA), to recognize health care organizations that provide the very best in nursing care. It is based on quality indicators and standards of nursing practice

To earn Magnet status, organizations must apply to the American Nurses Credentialing Center and undergo a vigorous, multifaceted evaluation. The evaluation process is thorough and lengthy, demanding evidence and testimony of optimal patient care outcomes. It includes a review of nursing practice, as well as interviews with nurses, physicians and other members of the health care team.

Indiana University Health is part of an elite group of hospitals with Magnet designation – fewer than 400 nationwide have earned Magnet status. Indiana University Health’s academic health center has been a Magnet-designated hospital system since 2004, and its three downtown Indianapolis hospitals most recently were re-designated in 2014. Four IU Health statewide affiliates also have earned Magnet status. IU Health North Hospital earned its first designation in 2015 and IU Health Bloomington Hospital was re-designated in 2015, IU Health West Hospital earned its first designation in 2014.

Magnet status is awarded for a four-year period. After four years, hospitals must reapply to continue their Magnet status.