Search Newsroom
What's Happening

Tour de La Porte goes the distance for cancer care to benefit local patients

An IU Health La Porte Hospital Release

— La Porte, IN – The La Porte Hospital Foundation 11th Annual Tour de La Porte bike, run and walk event celebrated another successful year of expansion to benefit local cancer patients on Saturday, August 25 and Sunday, August 26 at Soldiers Memorial Park in La Porte.

For the second consecutive year, the event included two days of family-friendly activities, increasing the total number of participants to 1,293 compared to last year’s 1,088 participants. There were 619 riders (riding routes ranging from five to 100 miles throughout scenic La Porte County) who participated in the main cycling event, while 41 riders cycled the bike time trial. Other number of participants included: 187 in the 5K run, 275 in the 5K walk, 57 in the 10K run and 101 in the 21K half-marathon. Of these participants, there were 111 cyclist/runner combinations. In addition, 13 children (ages 4 to 8) participated in the Mini TDL fun run of 50- to 200-yards.

All proceeds directly benefit Indiana University Health La Porte and Indiana University Health Starke hospitals’ patients with cancer in need of financial assistance, and provides community members access to free health screenings. In 2012, Tour de La Porte raised more than $70,000 to assist families in the community battling cancer compared to 2011’s total earnings of $55,000. These funds allowed the Foundation to help community members focus on treatment and worry less about financial obligations.

The event included individual and team competition. Awards were distributed to overall winners: Sheri Aurenz, 5K (24:12); Jonathan Didion, 5K (18:23); Katie Maas, 10K (50:09); Matt Aurenz, 10K (37:55); Nicole Hartford, half-marathon (1:42:57); and Jake Gillette, half-marathon (1:18:31). Masters winners and age division awards for all three running events were also distributed. All half marathon runners received a Finisher Award for completing. Finally, awards were given to the top three finishers in the bike time trial: Craig Neidlinger (32:07), Bryan Fryar and Don Anderson. For a complete results list, visit

The La Porte Hospital Foundation Tour de La Porte committee was chaired by Mark Kosior. Committee members included: Debi Baughman; Bob Bline; Sue Brown; Terri Davis; Carolyn Eyrick; Shannon Hannon; Tom Konieczny; Ross Lawrence, DDS; Neil Mangus; Amy Newman; Larry Noel; Monica Ovalle, MD; Carl Para; Ronda Powell; Jessica Romine; Chanaya Sandler; Brendon Scott; Andy Snyder; Teresa Tuholski; G. Thor Thordarson; Martha Vanderheyden; and Jim Vanes, DDS. In addition to the planning and support provided by this committee, more than 130 volunteers helped make the event a success.

The Foundation thanks the generous sponsors for their financial support. Going the Distance Sponsors included: American Limb & Orthopedic Company of Valparaiso; CB Richard Ellis Bradley; La Porte Radiology, Inc.; La Porte Retirement, LLC; La Porte Savings Bank; Larson-Danielson Construction Company; Newby, Lewis Kaminski and Jones; and The Sobecki Family. For a complete list of sponsors, visit

The Foundation encourages the pubic to save the date for next year’s Tour de La Porte on Saturday, August 24 and Sunday, August 25. To view photos or become part of the Tour de La Porte fan club, visit Facebook, Twitter, YouTube or Flickr.

For more information, call 219.326.2471 or toll-free at 877.265.4539 or e-mail

Go to IU Health La Porte Newsroom