Make An Appointment
Book Appointment Online with select physicians.
Request Appointment Online to schedule with one of our coordinators.
1.888.IUHEALTH for
Same-Day Primary Care Appointments.
If you are experiencing a medical emergency, please call 9-1-1.

Advanced Levels of Trauma Care

Not all trauma centers are able to provide the same resources. Each trauma center receives a different level of verification depending on the programs and resources they have in place to treat and prevent severe injuries.

Trauma center verification is awarded by the American College of Surgeons Committee on Trauma. The process occurs every three years and includes rigorous guidelines and requirements. Requirements range from having a full-time coordinator of trauma care to providing injury prevention education and conducting research. Potential trauma centers must show an unwavering dedication to providing high-quality, comprehensive trauma care, preventing injury and continuing to improve patient outcomes for trauma patients across the country.

How We Can Help

How We Can Help

Advanced Levels of Trauma Care Treatment Information

Level I Trauma Centers, such as the ones at the IU Health Methodist Hospital Trauma Center and Riley Hospital for Children at IU Health Trauma Center meet stringent requirements to prove they can give patients comprehensive care, including:

Level II Trauma Centers offer high-quality care and have procedures in place for quick referral to a Level I Trauma Center if necessary. They must also:

IU Health hospital system has two of the state’s first ACS verified Level III Trauma Centers. To get this verification, they must:

Advanced Levels of Trauma Care Support Services

To understand more about the requirements to be a trauma center as well as the process hospitals must go through, please visit the websites below.