IU Health Blackford Leadership

Our executive leadership and board of directors guide our constant pursuit of excellence through leading-edge medicine and scientific innovation at IU Health Blackford. Learn more about our leaders.

IU Health Blackford Hospital Executives

Dave Hyatt


Dave Hyatt serves as president of IU Health Blackford. IU Health Blackford is a 15 bed hospital located in Hartford City, Indiana, offering surgical services, radiology services and several medical specialties. Dave has been with IU Health for 13 years in several operational and strategic roles. Prior to his time at IU Health Blackford, Dave served as Vice President of Strategy and Ambulatory Services for IU Health La Porte and President of IU Health Starke, he then served as president of IU Health Jay for 5 years before adding IU Health Blackford to his responsibilities in 2018. He is a graduate of Indiana University - Bloomington with a degree in Public Health and also earned his Masters of Health Administration from Indiana University – Indianapolis.

Iu Heatlth Jay Dave 7344

Jan Blake, RN

Chief Nursing Officer

Jan Blake, RN serves as the chief nursing officer (CNO) for IU Health Blackford Hospital. Jan’s nursing career with IU Health spans more than 25 years. Most recently she served as the director of nursing practice and interim CNO at IU Health Blackford. Prior to that, she held several nursing positions as an Emergency Department staff nurse, house officer, associate administrator, clinical operations manager and more at IU Health Blackford and IU Health Ball since 2004. Jan has a master’s of business administration from Western Governor’s University and a bachelor’s degree in nursing from Indiana Wesleyan University.

Jan blake

Randy Deffenbaugh

Manager of Support Services

Randy Deffenbaugh serves as the manager of support services for IU Health Blackford. Randy previously worked as the regional director of experience design for ECR (Ball, Blackford and Jay hospitals), along with ten years as a patient representative at Marion General Hospital. He also has six years of experience in Marketing and Community Relations, and two years’ experience as the Manager of Protective Services, Emergency Medical Dispatch, Emergency Preparedness, Hazmat Disposal and Decontamination also at Marion General Hospital. Randy earned a bachelor’s of science in telecommunications from Ball State University.

Randy Deffenbaugh 4 2015

East Central Region Board of Directors

Terry Whitt Bailey, City of Muncie
Jeff Bird, MD, President, IU Health Ball Memorial Hospital
Patrick Cleary, MD, PhD, IU Health Ball Memorial Physicians
Wilbur Davis, Ontario Systems
Jud Fisher, Ball Associates
Jeffrey Heavilon, MD, Central Indiana Orthopedics
John Jackson, Jackson Family Farms
John Littler, retired
J. Steven Rhea, retired
Charles Routh, MD, IU Health Ball Memorial Physicians
Alicia Schulhof, IU Health
Kirk Shafer, Meridian Health Services
Pete Voss, MD, IU Health Ball Memorial Hospital
Terry Walker, retired
Steven West, IU Health Blackford Hospital

Charles Greenwood, Ball State University
John Worthen, Ball State University


John Littler, Board Chairman
Pete Voss, MD, Vice Chairman
Terry Walker, Vice Chairman
Wilbur Davis, Secretary/Treasurer
Jeff Bird, MD, President
Carla Cox, Chief Nursing Officer
Lori Luther, Chief Operating Officer
Jon Vanator, Chief Financial Officer
Terry Pence, Vice President, Operations
Ann McGuire, Vice President, Human Resources
Michelle Altobella, JD, Vice President, General Counsel & Assistant Secretary
Bettie Caldwell, CPA, Director, Finance and Assistant Treasurer