IU Health Tipton Leadership

Our constant pursuit of excellence through leading-edge medicine and scientific innovation at IU Health is guided by our executive leadership and board of directors. Learn more about those who lead IU Health Tipton Hospital.

IU Health Tipton Hospital Executives

Michael Harlowe


Mike Harlowe has served as president of IU Health Saxony Hospital since July 2016. He also serves as president of IU Health Tipton Hospital. During his tenure, he has played a key role in facilitating collaborative relationships between community leaders, across hospital disciplines and even with the IU Health system.

Prior to joining IU Health, Harlowe served as vice president of operations at Floyd Memorial Hospital and Health Services in New Albany, Indiana, and vice president of professional and support services at Good Samaritan Hospital in Vincennes, Indiana.

Mike Harlowe

JoEllen Scott, RN

Chief Nursing Officer & Senior VP Patient Care Services

JoEllen Scott has served as CNO and senior vice president of patient care services at Indiana University Health Tipton Hospital since 1996. Prior to this role, she held various positions as a staff nurse, manager of ICU/ED and supervisor. She is a current member of AONE, IONE and alumnus CCRN as well as past president of EIONE.

During her tenure, IU Health Tipton Hospital has consistently achieved accolades in patient satisfaction and is a critical access facility recognized nationally for high-quality patient care and safety, consistently ranked in the highest echelon of employee engagement as measured by Press-Ganey Associates, Inc. 

Scott has been involved with facility replacement, program alignment and lean transformation. She holds an ASA and BSN from Indiana University and an MSM from Indiana Wesleyan University. Scott has held her current position since 1996. Prior to 1996 she held various various positions as a staff nurse, manager of ICU/ED and supervisor. Scott is a current member of American Organization of Nurse Executives (AONE), the Indiana Organization of Nurse Executives (IONE) and and alumnus CCRN as well as a past president of EIONE.

6146 Jo Ellen Scott 2016

IU Health Tipton Hospital Board of Directors

Board Chair: Steven A. Wertz

Program Manager, Delphi Electronics

Linda G. Joines


Ben B. Hobbs

Of Counsel, Church Church Hittle & Antrim

Tamera Noble Brown, RN, MSN

Officer, Ray Bros. Farms

David L. Voris


Destry W. Lambert, M.D.

Retired family medicine physician