Respiratory Virus-Related Restrictions: Visitor Information

Due to a rise in the number of reported cases of flu and other respiratory viruses, IU Health is restricting visitors at some of its healthcare locations to protect patients and prevent further spreading. View full details.

IU Health University Leadership

Our constant pursuit of excellence through leading-edge medicine and scientific innovation at IU Health is guided by our executive leadership and board of directors. Learn more about those who lead IU Health University Hospital.

IU Health University Hospital Executives

Ryan Nagy, MD

President and Chief Medical Officer 

As president and chief medical officer of the adult academic health center (AHC), Ryan Nagy, MD, is responsible for determining the strategic vision and priorities for IU Health University and Methodist hospitals. He also provides overall direction for the medical staff and physician leadership, regulatory compliance, patient quality and safety, and risk management at the AHC adult hospitals.
In his role as anesthesiologist for IU Health Physicians, Dr. Nagy has participated in numerous IU Health initiatives, including leadership of the finance subcommittee of the AHC of the Future steering committee. Previously, he was chief of anesthesiology at IU Health.

Dr. Nagy is a graduate of Indiana University School of Medicine and holds a master’s degree in business administration and a bachelor’s degree in economics from Indiana University.

Nagy Ryan Md 15 03

Parveen Chand, MHA, FACHE

Chief Operating Officer 

Parveen Chand, MHA, FACHE, joined IU Health as chief operating officer for IU Health University and Methodist hospitals in August 2016.

An experienced hospital administrator, Chand comes to IU Health from Eskenazi Health, where he served as COO for three years. Prior to that he was COO at Creighton University Medical Center in Omaha, Nebraska, a 334-bed teaching hospital for Creighton University, and at St. Mary’s Hospital in Streator, Illinois. He also served as an assistant administrator at Barnes-Jewish St. Peters Hospital, St. Peters, Missouri.

Chand earned a degree in biology at St. Louis University and completed graduate studies in health administration at Washington University School of Medicine, also in St. Louis.

02 Chand Parveen 2016

Jason H. Gilbert, PhD, MBA, RN, NEA-BC

Chief Nursing Officer

Jason Gilbert, PhD, MBA, RN, NEA-BC, joined IU Health in 2011 as Director of Nursing Operations at the IU Health adult academic health center in Indianapolis, IN. Named Associate Chief Nursing Officer in 2015, and Chief Nursing Officer in 2018, Jason oversees nearly 1,800 nurses at one of the state's biggest and busiest hospital systems. Prior to IU Health, Gilbert spent four years at the Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center.

Gilbert completed his Master of Business Administration (MBA) at Ohio State University in 2011, and received a doctorate in Nursing Science in 2017 from Indiana University School of Nursing.

About Executives Gilbert Jason

IU Health Board of Directors

Judge Sarah Evans Barker

United States District Court, Southern District of Indiana

Maureen Bisognano, MSN

President emerita and senior fellow, Institute for Healthcare Improvement 

J. Scott Davison

President and CEO, companies of OneAmerica

Jim Davlin

Retired Vice President of Finance, General Motors

Tom Easterday

Executive Vice President, Secretary and Chief Legal Officer, Subaru of Indiana Automotive, Inc.

Harry L. Gonso

Partner, Ice Miller LLP, Indianapolis

Kyle L. Grazier, MS, MPH, DPH

Chair, Department of Health Management and Policy for the School of Public Health at the University of Michigan; Professor, Department of Psychiatry at the University of Michigan Medical School

Jeffrey A. Harrison

President and CEO, Citizens Energy Group

Jay L. Hess, MD, PhD, MHSA

Dean, IU School of Medicine; Vice President of University Clinical Affairs at Indiana University

Michael A. McRobbie, PhD

President, Indiana University

Michael J. Mirro, MD, FACC, FACP, FAHA

Senior Vice President and Chief Academic Research Officer, Parkview Health in Ft. Wayne, Ind.

Dennis M. Murphy

President and CEO, IU Health

Anne Nobles, MA, JD

Chair, IU Health Board of Directors; Retired Vice President of Enterprise Risk Management and Chief Ethics and Compliance Officer, Eli Lilly and Company

Robert A. Palmer

Pilot and Owner, IndyJet at Indianapolis Regional Airport in Greenfield, Ind. 

Larry Stevens, MD

Medical Director of Quality, IU Health Physicians

Bishop Julius C. Trimble

Indiana Episcopal Area United Methodist Church